Beginner questions: reboot, documentation and own scripts

Hi,

I am new to NixOS and have a few questions now:

• I have activated the following:
    • system.autoUpgrade.enable = true;
    • How do I know now that I have to reboot, e.g. if the kernel is updated?
  • Is it possible that the documentation is not very up-to-date?
  • Where can I store my own scripts or programs, except ~/bin ?

Thanks!

Hello and welcome!

• Autoupdate
    I don’t think there’s some official flag that you can check. However there’s a nice trick:
$ ls -l /run/{booted,current}-system/kernel*
lrwxrwxrwx  3 root root 64  1. Jan 1970  /run/booted-system/kernel -> /nix/store/ihxs96q4slbr0hz2gr2xh5yiiw2xhk2p-linux-5.1.14/bzImage
lrwxrwxrwx  2 root root 58  1. Jan 1970  /run/booted-system/kernel-modules -> /nix/store/iwrk0wgd7kdic6dzwfigd5242rx64dgj-kernel-modules
-r--r--r-- 12 root root 10  1. Jan 1970  /run/booted-system/kernel-params
lrwxrwxrwx  3 root root 64  1. Jan 1970  /run/current-system/kernel -> /nix/store/xzx90imganix9s9740c2iw3ak5wr90nq-linux-5.1.15/bzImage
lrwxrwxrwx  2 root root 58  1. Jan 1970  /run/current-system/kernel-modules -> /nix/store/vl7s989c9ch23dgx62mlpapbsf915mvp-kernel-modules
-r--r--r-- 12 root root 10  1. Jan 1970  /run/current-system/kernel-params

You can see that the links point to different images, which is an indication that the kernel has changed. This does not necessarily mean that the current-system/kernel is newer, but it’s a somewhat decent indicator.
Maybe someone else has another idea that I’ve overlooked so far.

• The documentation
    That’s a good question. Some documentation is generated automatically, like the Options list (NixOS Search) and the manpage for configuration.nix is pretty much guaranteed to be up to date.