Installing wordpress on nixos results in database error

Hello, I’m very new to NixOS and I’m in the process of learning it. Yesterday, I tried to install wordpress with the code in this wiki page: wordpress wiki page on wordpress
I imported it as a module to configuration.nix and managed to install it. But when I go to https://localhost/wordpress I encounter with this error:
" Error establishing a database connection"
I just included the code in the wiki. In other distros, I’d install wordpress through xampp, then create a database through phpmyadmin and then pass the database credentials to wordpress. I didn’t do anything like that, I’m not even sure whether apache or mysql are enabled or where the database is created. Thus, I’m totally clueless about the situation.

It’s worth looking up the actual options yourself, since the wiki is usually a bit void of explanations and not always current. See services.wordpress.

The wordpress options don’t seem to have terribly detailed docs sadly. In your case, the interesting option is services.wordpress.<name>.database.createLocally, which tells nix to “Create the database and database user locally.”.

This means two things:

1. If you don’t set that to true, you can do database setup yourself - which you could in turn do with services.mysql.enable, or another packaged database.
  2. If you do set that to true, the wordpress module should take care of database creation for you. Since that’s clearly not working, we’ll need to check upstream what it’s doing. You can do that by clicking the source link in the option listing.
    In this case that link is only present on services.wordpress, and we need to manually search for createLocal to find this: https://github.com/NixOS/nixpkgs/blob/386234e2a61e1e8acf94dfa3a3d3ca19a6776efb/nixos/modules/services/web-apps/wordpress.nix#L312.