New User Having Issues

I tried installing NixOS from the graphical boot CD. Followed the instructions for UEFI (GPT), no errors.

Rebooted: no boot.

I do not know if I can boot UEFI or if I have to use MBR. Why doesn’t the documentation give any guidance? I am a very experienced developer but I don’t know anything about UEFI. Why do you just assume everyone does? How is it not clear to you that the average very technical person is not going to know what UEFI is and when to use it? Is it hardware-dependent? Is my laptop UEFI-capable? How would I know?

This is pretty typical of my experience with NixOS so far. What am I supposed to do, become and expert in everything before I use it? No one has time to become an expert in everything.

Also, tried to connect to my WiFi from the Boot CD. Got some message about some sort of encryption wallet, that then popped an error window. Presumably this was to store my WiFi password. The window went away when I closed the error message popup. Never came back. Could not log on to WiFi network because, apparently, it didn’t offer up a password.

What the heck, now I have to become an expert in encryption wallets and what might go wrong with them just to connect to my WiFi network?

I really like the idea of NixOS, but you guys are not explaining anything. You’ve gotta throw the user a bone here.

Edit: After messing around endlessly with this KDE Wallet encryption thing, I changed the WiFi settings to ask for a password every time… but it does not ask for a password. KDE Wallet says “there are no encryption keys… create some” or something like that. But I have no idea how to create encryption keys for KDE Wallet nor any idea why I would want to. Only after closing KDE Wallet does a dialog pop up prompting me for my WiFi password (and then connects successfully).