Restricted nix copy

Hi everyone:

First of all, a disclaimer: I’ve never used discord before or this forum, so let me know if there is a better place to ask this, or any other advice about where to go, and apologies in advance if this should be asked elsewhere.

Anyway, I work at a company that’s using nix as a build system and for deployment. We want to be able to use nix copy to move programs between hosts, but also have some centralized control over what is allowed to be copied. For instance, it’s pretty easy to get source code in your runtime closure, if you compile C without -ffile-prefix-map, or if you compile with debugging symbols. We can freely copy source around internally, but are not allowed to copy it to external machines, and nix copy makes it too easy to accidentally copy more than you bargained for.

I have a plan, which I’ll describe below, but first, is this something which has been discussed or planned before? Perhaps there are RFCs for this kind of thing, or previous talk, or perhaps it’s even possible currently and I just don’t know how? Supposing I go ahead with my plan, it would be nicer to get it upstreamed than continue maintaining a branch, so advice about how get involved in that process would be appreciated.

That said, the plan (very preliminary). I looked into path signing, but it seems like it’s backwards, it’s oriented around the copy-to being able to reject paths because it doesn’t trust them, not the copy-from rejecting to send paths because it doesn’t trust the copy-to. So I think it can’t be made to do what I want.

It looks like copyStorePath in store-api.cc is in the right place to intercept copies from all nix commands and be able to make a per-path decision. We wind up with two problems:

1. Differentiate destinations, so we can apply different rules based on the destination.