Trouble packaging python "ocrmypdf" and it's depency "pikepdf"

Hey y’all i’ve struggling with this one for a while. I am not a python programmer, but have been trying to get my hands on some OCR software to make some scanned reading for class searchable.
I have been trying to keep everything in my /etc/nixos/configuration.nix layer, rather than a pkgs clone.
I packaged one dependency setuptools_scm_git_archive without too much trouble; but now I need pikepdf, which is failing for trying to access the homeless shelter.
I feel like I’m really close here, but just need a push in the right direction.
Here are all of the files: https://paste.ee/p/L5BKQ, but I will post the pikepdf derivation here.

{ lib
, fetchFromGitHub
, python37Packages
, img2pdf
, qpdf
, setuptools_scm_git_archive
}:
with python37Packages;
buildPythonApplication rec {

pname   = "pikepdf";
  version = "1.0.5";

src = fetchFromGitHub {
    sha256      = "0gpdrsaf0hga5yizkiw5v1qmdn2n6gx7hsccpzz2gj0503661hd7";
    owner       = "pikepdf";
    repo        = "pikepdf";
    rev         = "v${version}";
  };

buildInputs = [
    setuptools
    pip
    pytest
    setuptools_scm
    setuptools_scm_git_archive
    cffi
    reportlab
    img2pdf
    pybind11
    pytestrunner
    qpdf
    defusedxml
  ];
  checkInputs           = [ pytest pytestrunner ];
  runtimeDeps           = [ qpdf ];

doCheck = false;

meta = {
    description = ''
      pikepdf is a Python library for reading and writing PDF files.
    '';
    homepage = https://github.com/pikepdf/pikepdf/;
    license  = lib.licenses.gpl3;
  };
}

And the tail of the error (the full on is at the link)

running build_ext
gcc -Wno-unused-result -Wsign-compare -DNDEBUG -g -fwrapv -O3 -Wall -fPIC -I/nix/store/b75brsgimlrw33l9ykhacz5fni3vq0jn-python3-3.7.2/include/python3.7m -c /build/tmpo4h638l_.cpp -o build/tmpo4h638l_.o -std=c++14