2023-10-19 Documentation team meeting notes #87

Notes

• Curate the doc team members and update it on nixos.org
    • Who should be in the docs team? Let’s double check with the nix.dev list and recent work and meetings
    • Let’s also not have descriptions for the members, these could get outdated, we don’t want to maintain that
    • @henrik-ch: Will make a PR for this, copying the above list to ping everybody
      • Will have to confirm discourse vs github nicks
        • Figure out @wamirez’s Discourse nick
      • Put in the PR description that we should wait for like a week before merging, so that people have the chance to confirm/complain
        • Draft PR so it can’t be merged too early
      • Another PR afterwards to remove the list from nix.dev

I’d like to contribute more. What’s blocking me:

• the documentation team’s call often overlaps with my work hours.
  • I am not really an expert on anything Nix related. Even the “good first issues” are outlandish. They either require deep knowledge (making them not really good first issues), access rights that I don’t have, or are vague and need more discussion.
    What I can do:
  • I can proofread or review tutorials, documentation with a fresh eye being a Nix beginner.
  • I have 25+y experience w/ Linux.
4 Likes

I see, that’s good feedback, thanks for wanting to help out!

For now I think one of the easiest ways to help out is to follow the nix.dev repo and review PRs.

For me too ,but that’s not really a problem. Maybe have a look at previous posts to the see what is the focus of discussion.

I don’t really understand what accress rights you are missing. Prs and reviews should be possible.

Maybe also join the matrix channel to get direction what to work on that’s of interest to you.