A Suggestion to Aid New Users

Hi all. I am new to NixOS but not to Linux. I am quite fascinated by the way NixOS works but I am a bit overwhelmed by the steep learning curve. If I may offer a humble suggestion to assist newbies like me:

Perhaps it would be a good idea to host on the NixOS GitHub page a repository containing a “cookbook” of configuration.nix files for various NixOS setups. These would be fairly well fleshed out and would allow new users to quickly stand up a NixOS setup with all of the basic needs attended to. This is similar to other distros that have “spins” or “flavors” but in this case is a set of vetted configs that can become the basis for personal configurations.

For example, I prefer to use i3-gaps as my window manager, but I don’t know what are all of the applications and utilities needed to get a completely usable install going. Yes, I should learn what is involved in doing that, but if I need a running system fairly quickly doing so in NixOS is currently a bit of an arduous process. It may also make NixOS more appealing to causal users if a base config can be easily selected as opposed to being created by hand.

Just a thought…

6 Likes

I do like this suggestion of maintaining some common configs.

I think people would have to step up to maintain those though, or ideally they’d be built out as VMs and use NixOS VM tests run by CI to ensure they do not break.

I also thought of making an i3-based config I’d publish, or perhaps even a “nixos-desktop” repo that shows pre-configured NixOS desktops with all the bells and whistles working for various desktop environments.

1 Like

I have most of my configuration in home-manager, you can look at my configuration here: GitHub - jonringer/nixpkgs-config: ~/.config/nixpkgs

my configuration.nix only contains this for xserver:

services.xserver = {
    enable = true;
    layout = "us";
    videoDrivers = [ "nvidia" ];
    displayManager.lightdm.enable = true;
    windowManager.i3.enable = true;