A summary of the problems I met while using the current nixpkgs Haskell infrastructure (And my thoughts on how to solve them)

I’ve been using nix to develop Haskell packages for about 8 months now. While my overall experience with nixpkgs is great, there are also some frustrating problems with the nixpkgs Haskell infrastructure. I figured out that others might have had the same problems and a good start for improvement would be to identify the problems. So I decided to make a summary.

1. Dependency management
    Nixpkgs tries to have only one version of each Haskell package at the same time – the version of every Haskell package in the package set is determined in the following way: If this package exists in stackage nightly then use the version from stackage, otherwise use the latest version from hackage. This works well if you are okay with the versions from the package set, you get prebuilt binaries from hydra, and all of the infrastructures (callCabal2nix, developPackage etc.) work out of the box, but if the version does not satisfy your need then tough luck, you’ll have to override the dependency. For developers, this means that you’ll need to add an overlay to your haskellPackages, and for maintainers, to override the inputs in configuration-commons.nix. This is not only tedious but also requires constant maintenance: if the package updates then you’ll need to update the overrides as well, otherwise it will break again.

2. Documentation
    The Haskell infrastructure is really lacking in documentation, the Haskell section in nixpkgs manual points to cabal2nix’s documentation which hasn’t received any meaningful update for years, is really sparse and does not cover the functions in the library at all. This makes it really hard for newcomers to contribute to the Haskell infrastructure. The interaction between hydra and nixpkgs and the update process (which is usually done by peti) should also be documented.

3. Automation