Adding custom ipykernel on jupyterlab

Hi,

I’m a newbie in Nix, and I’m sure the following is my fault. Nowadays I have a computer managed with home-manager. For another reason, the computer is not running nixOS.

I’m installing Jupyterlab using Nix&home-manager, so I can run my Jupyterlab server on startup using user’s systemd service. Everything is working fine and I’m super happy about it. The main problem is when I try to work with some Python libraries, which need to install pip dependencies, I’m not able to install another ipykernel in Jupyterlab or create a new pip env.

What I understand, I need to create different flakes for each “notebook”, and manage all from different Flake. Even though I’m happy to do that for a real application, pip install would help me to iterate faster in multiple ways.

So my questions are:

• Is there any way to create venv in each jupyterlab notebook, and install pip packages directly from it?
  • Could anyone install a new jupyterlab ipykernel from another flake? From the same flake is “easy”
  • Can a flake install pip requirements directly? To avoid the translation on each package?

The relevant code is the following:

# The JupiterLab packages dependency. 
  python = (const.pythonVersion.withPackages (py:
    with py; [
      numpy
      jupyterlab
      pip
      ipython
      pandas
      ipykernel
      langchain
      pypdf
      # fastembed
      faiss
      emoji
      langdetect
      unstructured
      iso639_p
    ]));

packages = const.extendedPkgs ++ [
      python
      pkgs.nginx
    ];

I guess that it’s going to be something related to python.override{}[0] but I’m not sure how to do that from a different flake or if it’s the right thing.

[0] Install Custom Kernels Into Jupyter Lab - #5 by douglas

Thanks

I want to make sure we get the abstractions right here, for Jupyterlab:
Kernel → execution environment (combination of runner and it’s environment, like virtualenv)