Bambu Studio - compilation or package request

I’m looking to get Bambu Studio working on my NixOS (GNOME) desktop. The compilation instructions are asking for packages that I can’t seem to locate on search.nixos.org. I noticed there was a package request for it that was opened, marked completed, and closed all on the same day so I’m not sure what happened there.

I’m a bit of a noob when it comes to packaging things up for NixOS but I’d wager it probably would require getting it to compile in the first place. Am I the only Bambu Labs 3D printer owner/user? Or just the only oddball that ditched Debian for NixOS without knowing how to get it working on here?

Thanks to anyone in advance for any help.

Hi, NixOS unstable has bambu-studio packaged for a while. It was broken for a few weeks, but currently it is back working again. If you are on NixOS unstable you can use pkgs.bambu-studio (just tested it).

Due to bambu-studio being a large big C++ codebase with plenty of dependencies, that all have to work in harmony to some extend with the current versions/changes in the nixpkgs repositories - which in particular can be a challenge with mesa and 3D rendering components.

I’ll try to submit a PR updating the nixpkgs bambu-studio package once the official 1.9 release is ready. I think with the soon approaching 24.05 release we’ll finally have a stable BambuStudio package built.

That being said, I just stumbled upon @szymonf repository on GitHub that uses pkgs.appimageTools.wrapType2 to bundle the pre-built AppImages. I’ve been somewhat successfully using the latest orca-slicer built there as well.

Here is my current config with the latest orca-slicer release preview, which also works with my BambuLab printer and the network plugin (webcam is a bit flaky though).

orca-slicer-appimage = pkgs.appimageTools.wrapType2 rec {
    name = "OrcaSlicer";
    pname = "orcaslicer";
    version = "2.0.0-rc";
    src = pkgs.fetchurl {
      url =