Best place to look for setups?

I’m new at nix with just a couple of days, read documentation and watch some videos, as I’m mostly experimenting state of the OS, I want to test best use cases for workstation, I usually look for most downloaded packages on things relevant to me, but I see there are no stats for the packages, can someone point me a direction? where can I check for setup schemes stable and flow

sorry if the request is vague I’m wrapping my head around the concept

1 Like

If the issue you’re experiencing is that of getting started with your config, I guess it depends mostly on what you want to do with your machine. That will the inform what packages and subsystrms are useful to configure.

So let’s start there: what use cases do you have in mind your machine?
Rough categories will do for now, e.g. dev work, business/office machine, gaming machine, etc

I’m developer, I try to avoid desktops and work my way with minimal just a window manager and a file manager, I’m using hyprland just to test what the cool kids are using, for the moment I have one conflict, with probably project philosophy, I should not use nvm right? this is all about not touching the environment, so I figure, how can I run different projects? should I virtualize everything? I could see myself running everything in docker but I guess there should be a more nix solution to this.

So just to check: that basic setup is already working? If it is, we can skip that :slight_smile:

Ultimately that choice is up to you. I’ve used nvm in the past, and it does work on NixOS.
But there’s a real case for getting rid of nvm in favor of letting Nix manage that directly, yes.

As in NodeJS projects? One recommended way is to write a shell.nix file in each of your projects. This file sets up the dev env needed for its containing project, and contains the deps you need e.g. the NodeJS version you need.