Can't make HIE work on VS Code with Nix

Hello, I am a beginner in Haskell and Nix, and I am trying desperately to setup a development environment.
My editor of choice is VS Code for multiple reasons. I am trying to use HIE.
My idea is to make a nix-shell with my Haskell development environment and launch VS Code from nix-shell in order to keep my multiple projects separated.
I came up with this shell.nix :

{ pkgs ? import <nixpkgs> { } }:

let
  haskell-env = pkgs.haskellPackages.ghcWithHoogle (hp: with hp; [
    gloss # example
  ]);

all-hies = import (fetchTarball "https://github.com/infinisil/all-hies/tarball/master") {};
 hie = (all-hies.selection { selector = p: { inherit (p) ghc865; }; });

in
  pkgs.mkShell {
    buildInputs = [
      haskell-env
      hie
    ];
  }

But when I launch VS Code with nix-shell --run "code .", the HIE plugin gives me two errors:

• my modules are not found (here import Graphics.Gloss is underlined like an error)
  • “No hoogle db found. Check the README for instructions to generate one”

I’ve been on many blogposts / github issues / …, but I can’t solve it. Has someone ever gotten this problem ?

1 Like

consider using Nix Environment Selector - Visual Studio Marketplace instead

Thx for the suggestion. I get the same errors with nix-env-selector.
I think there is an issue in my shell.nix config…

I’m very much an ignorant Nix user, but I’ve organised my Nix use differently from you, I think.

In each project folder I have both a default.nix and a shell.nix. The default.nix is only for building the project’s various outputs (in my case usually a Haskell binary and a Docker image). The shell.nix is then rather simple to setup, usually something like

with (import <nixpkgs> {});

let
  def = import ./default.nix;

shell-pkgs = with haskellPackages;
    [cabal-install
     ghcid
     hlint
    ];

in
def.pkg.overrideAttrs (attrs: {
  src = null;
  buildInputs = shell-pkgs ++ attrs.buildInputs;
})