Can't run an AppImage app

So, I’m back again.
I’m trying to run an app that isn’t in the repo, it is distributed as an appimage.
I downloaded appimage-run, but when I try to use it I get a generic “segmentation fault” error:

appimage-run LittleWeeb-0.4.0.303.AppImage
LittleWeeb-0.4.0.303.AppImage installed in /home/suzu/.cache/appimage-run/e76971bc65ab44285776e178b26f7b7872412ee0ec495ff2
04c13cb1fe091a35
Segmentation fault (core dumped)

I looked around, and the closest thing I could find was this bug report, but the first answer said appimage from the unstable repo was OK.
I tried downloading appimage-run from the unstable repo, but I get the same error.

I tried downloading the source code from their Github to try and create a package, but it turns out the app was made in Electron, and I have no knowledge of Electron at all. By what I understood reading other threads, making packages of Electron apps is a bit of a chore, and TBH my head hurt just from reading the example packages.
So, my best option would be trying the appimage. I imagine the problem I’m having to run it is exactly because it’s an Electron app. Is there any trick I must use to make an appimage work on NixOS (technically an appimage was made to be portable and run hassle-free in any distro, but NixOS is full of little surprises).

1 Like

Have you tried using the appimagetools? See Nixpkgs 23.11 manual | Nix & NixOS

1 Like

Hi. Thanks for the tip, I didn’t know about this tool.
By reading it, it seems simple enough to use, but I tried creating a simple .nix function to use it, and it’s not quite giving me the result I expected.

Here’s my function:

{ pkgs ? import < nixpkgs> {}, fetchurl }:
appimageTools.wrapType2 {
name = “LittleWeeb”;
src = fetchurl {
url = “https://github.com/littleweeb/Desktop/releases/download/v0.4.0_linux/LittleWeeb-0.4.0.303.AppImage”;
sha256 = “e76971bc65ab44285776e178b26f7b7872412ee0ec495ff204c13cb1fe091a35”;
};
}