Catppuccin-nix: the soothing pastel theme, but for nix!

this is a project i’ve been working on for a few months now with some amazing people, and it has now been picked up by the official catppuccin org!

using nixos and home-manager modules, the goal here is to eventually allow each catppuccin port (and there are many) to be easily enabled and configured. so far, we have added support for two dozen ports with more on the way. i hope you all enjoy :slight_smile:

29 Likes

awesome! I have a file in my config full of catppuccin theming, I’ll have to see if any of them need to be added.

1 Like

Amazing! This is so neat. Would love to see this replicated for other colorschemes!

Brilliant. Thank you so much for pulling this together!

I got a dumb question.

Could catppuccin-nix have been made using GitHub - danth/stylix: System-wide colorscheming and typography for NixOS so other “theme packs” could share the same modules for each apps?

Perhaps but why would we want to duplicate the effort made by other contributors, thats why we use nvfetcher to get the latest version of said themes and load them into modules are the appropriate locations.

2 Likes

I was not able to enable it on Fish. Do you ?

I wrote the fish module, and it seems to work for me.

Do you mind sharing your config?

Here’s the merge request that tries to add it: Draft: catpuccin: add to profile (!5) · Merge requests · ECPHP / Devs profile · GitLab

When building the VM to test the light profile:

nix build .#nixosConfigurations.light.config.formats.vm -L --impure

I get this issue:

❯ nix build .#nixosConfigurations.light.config.formats.vm -L --impure
error:
       … while calling the 'derivationStrict' builtin

at /builtin/derivation.nix:9:12: (source not available)

… while evaluating derivation 'nixos-vm'
         whose name attribute is located at /nix/store/qjgi80svyhfcwbnlvzzaqg0nyr7h2w59-source/pkgs/stdenv/generic/make-derivation.nix:331:7