Concept: use any package version

We have a lot of package versions in git history of nixpkgs. Being able to use any available version would be a killer feature for Nix! No other package manager would provide so many versions.

This actually works right now when done manually: Use older package version with Nix · GitHub

I had this idea many years ago. Here is now my concept. It might become my first RFC.

Please provide feedback to the concept. Would you like to help implementing it?

@edolstra does this feature has a chance to be included in Nix?

Nix UI

I’m not a developer, so i don’t care so much about implementation details, but UI and UX design.

Install specific version of package

nix install firefox@55

You can specify only parts of the version. The latest available release of that version will be used. In this example 55.0.3.

Run specific version without permanent installation

nix run firefox@55

List all available versions of a package

nix list-versions firefox

For every minor release we have, list the latest patch version.

Show package details (including number of versions available)

nix show firefox
name: firefox
version: 74.0
description: A web browser built from Firefox source tree (with plugins: )
url: https://www.mozilla.org/en-US/firefox/
installed: no
available versions: 65 (use nix list-versions firefox)

Use specific version in package definition or module

propagatedBuildInputs = with python3Packages; [ paramiko@2.5.1 lxml@4.4 defusedxml ];

We might not want to allow this in nixpkgs itself, but it will be a killer feature for developers!

environment.systemPackages = with pkgs; [ firefox@55 ];

Users might need a specific version permanently and want to install it in a declarative way.

Implementation

For some packages, we have multiple versions in the current default channel. Search there if the requested version is available. For example ansible:

77236391-54452f80-6bbe-11ea-8074-2089705cc1d2