Confusion about proper way to setup Flathub

I’m a totally new NixOS user, I am currently experimenting with it to see if I am able to switch to it.
I read a few things about Nix, and watched some videos about it.

One of the things I wanted to do was setting up flatpak and flathub since I use quite a few flatpak-distributed apps. Here’s a wiki article about flatpak. The first part seems completely fine.I need to enable flatpak with a line in my configuration.nix. However, adding Flathub repository is shown as follows:

flatpak remote-add --if-not-exists flathub https://flathub.org/repo/flathub.flatpakrepo

Like I said, I’m completely new to Nix, but I find it confusing that in order to add the flatpak repo, you need to manually execute the above command. I’d expect it would be a part of configuration.nix, to keep the reproducibility thing going. Right now I’m not sure how to interpret that instruction. Does it mean that NixOS cannot actually be fully defined via *.nix files? Do I still have to maintain .sh scripts to set up my environment, like I do it now with Fedora or other distros?

2 Likes

This is normal for Flatpak. If you install another barebones distro and then install flatpak yourself, you will still have to manually add the flathub repository. You can also add the flathub repository by installing a flatpak file downloaded from the flathub website, this way you don’t have to look for the command or memorize it every time.

I’m not aware of a way to manage flatpak declaratively. Maybe there is one, but I’m not sure. In a way, it’s similar to launching standalone binaries and appimages that you downloaded yourself from a website, it wouldn’t be declarative.

Thanks @spacebanana. Ok, I actually expected it to be a bit different. With NixOS, to keep my configuration documented, I’d need to keep both configuration.nix and shell scripts to configure/install things that configuration.nix does not support.