Crashing while rebuilding Config or installing packages

Hi,
I have a verry strange problem with my NixOS. Everytime i want to install a package via nix-env -i or rebuild a changend config via nixos-rebuild the system logs me out. Even if i am using tty and sudo.
The only way i can do it ist to log in as root on tty1. then everything works.

Ps: how can i upload my config so i can get better help?

Hello and welcome to NixOS!

Disclaimer: I’m probably not knowledgeable enough to help you because I’m relatively new to NixOS as well. Instead, I write this reply because I don’t fully understand your issue and want to help clarify it, so that others can better offer you assistance. A bit more context would probably be useful here, like e.g.:

1. Which commands exactly do you try to run when the issue occurs?

2. Do you get any error messages?

3. What exactly happens when you run the command in question? Do you get logged out of your Desktop Environment (which one?) or does the system crash (as your title suggests?) - and if so, how specifically?

4. Did it work before? What changes did you apply when the problem occurred for the first time?

1 Like

Got here with the same issue. Haven’t started bisecting, but it’s happening on >1 machine now.
I’ve never seen this in 2+ years of nix, and recently:

• refactored some configurations into modules
  • updated nixpkgs to HEAD (I do this quite often)

So it’s either or, but I’m guessing it’s the former. Not sure if the order of modules getting loaded matters, will follow up here when I resolve it.

EDIT: an interesting point is that if I rebuild the same config from another machine, it builds OK. The current workaround is to build, nix-copy-closure from machine A to B, then on machine B sudo /nix/store/sha-to-your-new-system/bin/switch-to-configuration switch.

FWIW, can’t even do nix develop, whole DE crashes and logs me out back to tty.