Creating Nix Geospatial team

Dear Nix maintainers,

I am still quite new to Nix, but have a big interest in evolution of Nix
geospatial software stack. I currently don’t maintain any Nix package, but
definitely want to contribute and make Nix to become de-facto industry standard
for accessing high quality geospatial software.

That’s why I am thinking about creating Nix geospatial team which could, for the
start, take responsibility for maintenance of QGIS and all it’s build
dependencies like GDAL, PROJ, GEOS, Spatialite, … .

Advantage of having the team can be possibility to have some regular catch-ups and
easier and faster access to PR reviews.

Big thanks goes to people who already did lot of work in geospatial packages:

@marcweber
@willcohen
@dotlambda
@nh2
@lsix
@sikmir
@erictapen

To explore the playground I started NUR repo which can be potentially used for
latest versions of maintained packages and can serve as some kind of incubator.

What do you think about this idea ? Anybody interested to join ?

Ivan

8 Likes

This is a great idea.

If you manage to assemble a group of people who can commit some regular time:

• @infinisil (Nixpkgs team) would you guide the team with Nixpkgs best practices?

• It would be awesome if this team could produce contributor documentation as they stumble into inevitable problems. @lucperkins (documentation team) could you assist with that?

2 Likes

Yes, thank you @fricklerhandwerk . Having better access to some mentorship will be great benefit as well.

I think creating geospatial team in maintainers/team-list.nix is a great idea. I would like to join.
Just in case, here is my geospatial sandbox: https://github.com/sikmir/nur-packages/tree/master/pkgs/geospatial.

Great. Thank you @sikmir , I already saw your NUR repo - really impressive. I’ll create PR for team.

Draft Geospatial team PR is created.