Cuda from nixkgs in non-NixOs case

Hello. I’m a newbie and I’m super confused about how even to formulate my question. A third of my confusion comes from not fully understanding how to properly configure things, and the other two thirds is about nvidia’s dependency infrastructure.

I’m trying to make cuda from nixpkgs work in ubuntu. As far as I understand it gets built against the nvidia_x11 package. But it has a driver version different from the version installed in my system. This wiki entry Nvidia - NixOS Wiki links to GitHub - nix-community/nixGL: A wrapper tool for nix OpenGL application [maintainer=@guibou].

I figured out how to add it to my shell.nix as a build input, but I need guidance how to configure cuda to use the driver provided by nixGL. Could you show me from what I could start?

with import <nixpkgs> {
     config.allowUnfree = true;
     config.cudaSupport = true;
     config.cudnnSupport = true;
};

let
  nixGL = fetchTarball "https://github.com/guibou/nixGL/archive/master.tar.gz";
  myNixGL = (import "${nixGL}/default.nix" {
          nvidiaVersion = "440.64.00";
          nvidiaHash = "08yln39l82fi5hmn06xxi3sl6zb4fgshhhq3m42ksiglradjd0ah";
          inherit pkgs;
  }).nixGLNvidia;
  pythonEnv = python37.withPackages (ps: with ps; [
            ## nothing here yet
  ]);
in mkShell {
  buildInputs = [
    python37
    pythonEnv
    linuxPackages.nvidia_x11
    cudatoolkit_10_1
    cudnn_cudatoolkit_10_1

## TODO: configure everything to use the driver version mentioned above

];

shellHook = ''
    export CUDA_HOME=${pkgs.cudatoolkit_10_1}
    export PATH=${pkgs.cudatoolkit_10_1}/nsight-compute-2019.4.0:$(nixGLNvidia printenv PATH):${myNixGL}/bin
    export LD_LIBRARY_PATH=$(nixGLNvidia printenv LD_LIBRARY_PATH)
  '';
}
1 Like

I append it to my LD_LIBRARY_PATH as so:

mkShell {
    name = "tf-dev-environment";

nativeBuildInputs = [
      pythonEnv
    ];

shellHook = ''