Desktop nvidia tty / console resolution

Hi there.

I have a new setup (pc amd cpu + nvidia gpu, hybrid disabled) and I’m new to NixOS.
My goal is to have a working configuration using Wayland + Hyprland and a greeter (probably greetd + gtkgreet, currently sddm). The system is connected to one screen with the resolution 3840x1600@144 using displayport.

My only issue I can’t solve is the tty / console resolution. It’s fixed to 1024x768 and I can’t figure out how to change it. The resolution is the same during the boot and within the tty(s) afterwards.

I don’t have any console / font setup yet, staying to the defaults.

I tried to enable the nvidia module during the boot, but this doesn’t change anything:

boot.initrd.kernelModules = [ "nvidia" ];   

I tried to set the resolution using

boot.kernelParams = [ "video=3840x1600" ];

The boot starts with

initrd=\EFI\nixos\3p5v5d67zvdfa8kydzzh9y3ycdasf1qx-initrd-linux-6.6.31-initrd.efi init=/nix/store/p2xi92b6s6hffi1psi0nnzkwzk9mc9vr-nixos-system-nix-24.11.20240524.bfb7a88/init video=3840x1600 loglevel=4 nvidia-drm.modeset=1

but the mode fails with

[    0.645872] simple-framebuffer simple-framebuffer.0: [drm] User-defined mode not supported: "3840x1600": 60 522915 3840 4128 4552 5264 1600 1601 1604 1656 0x20 0x6

(I also tried adding @144)

How could I set the correct resolution?

Also relevant might be:

boot.loader.systemd-boot.enable = true;
  boot.loader.efi.canTouchEfiVariables = true;
  boot.loader.timeout = 2;
  boot.loader.systemd-boot.consoleMode = "max";

hardware.opengl = {
    enable = true;
    driSupport = true;
    driSupport32Bit = true;
  };

services.xserver = {
    videoDrivers = ["nvidia"];
  };

hardware.nvidia = {
    modesetting.enable = true;
    open = false;
    powerManagement.enable = false;
    powerManagement.finegrained = false;
    nvidiaSettings = true;
    package = config.boot.kernelPackages.nvidiaPackages.stable;
  };

I tried different consoleModes without any effect.

console ={