Development environement habbits from previous distros

I’m quite new to NixOS, and I’d like some insights on what are the good practices for a developer that switches all day long between versions of language/framework.

Usually, on my previous ArchLinux setup, I would install rbenv/pyenv/nvm and I would simply switch between my folders and let the scripts do their jobs when I enter the folder.

I have the feeling that this would not be a natural approach for NixOS, and I was wondering what would be the Nix-way of having such a devenv ?

Thanks!

2 Likes

It kinda depends, I moved from Arch too and in the beginning I just installed all the required things with nix-env and used them as normal, as time progressed I’ve moved to having all the packages and such in home-manager and more recently I’ve actually started using Nix to setup development environments for various programming projects, some samples (note that I use niv to manage the nixpkg version):

• Skall: a Rust project where I pin Rust to the latest available stable from the Mozilla overlay. I also use gcc9Stdenv so I can use lld as my linker.
  • course-explorer: a Python project (with some Node stuff that I’ve ignored for now) where I include all required pythonPackages in the derivation so I don’t have to use pip/poetry/pipenv to manage them.

Together with direnv the workflow is really smooth; I simply cd into a directory and it automatically setups a nix-shell for me with the dependencies in my shell.nix/default.nix. This is really my first foray into actually using Nix for managing packages, I’m looking at using it while learning more Haskell because I know lots of people love the Nix/Haskell combo.

3 Likes

Thank you for your reply, it made me discover home-manager and direnv.

direnv with the combination of a default.nix file seems to be the perfect fit !

I’m currently working on setting things up.