Development on GCC on nixos

I am a beginner to nixos.

I would like to make some patches to gcc. So I need to build it from source. As expected recommended build from the gcc wiki does not work on nixos.

The directory that should contain system headers does not exist:
  /usr/include

Is the latest error I encountered.

What is the recommended way to develop gcc on nixos?

1 Like

This is how gcc11 is built in nixpkgs:

You can reproduce the build environment with nix-shell -p gcc11. Now simply change src to your local sources.

If you expect a lot of recompilations during your changes, you might prefer to apply the patches from nixpkgs to your source, launch the appropriate nix shell and then build as you would do on other systems.

Another option would be using e.g. Debian in a Container for the hack&test cycles and once you seem satisfied you can easily rebuild gcc and your test code with nix.

1 Like

It would probably be best to do nix-shell '<nixpkgs>' -A gcc11.cc which should give you the build environment to create gcc.

Some issues may occur with patching though. :frowning:

2 Likes

I agree building vanilla gcc is not trivial on NixOS. And doing upstream development using nixpkgs derivations is even harder. I suggest a simple hack: use buildFHSEnv to get development environment. Something like the following:

# shell.nix:
{ pkgs ? import <nixpkgs> {} }:

let e =
  pkgs.buildFHSEnv {
    name = "gcc-git-build-env";
    targetPkgs = ps: with ps; [
      # library depends
      gmp gmp.dev
      isl
      libffi libffi.dev
      libmpc
      libxcrypt
      mpfr mpfr.dev
      xz xz.dev
      zlib zlib.dev

# git checkout need flex as they are not complete release tarballs
      m4
      bison
      flex
      texinfo

# test harness
      dejagnu
      autogen

# valgrind annotations
      valgrind valgrind.dev

# toolchain itself
      gcc
      stdenv.cc
      stdenv.cc.libc stdenv.cc.libc_dev
    ];
  };
in e.env

The full session would look like that: