Diary of a new NixOS user - Thoughts/impressions/Obstacles

I thought I’d document my experience with NixOS as a new user. This is kind of a mini review and my first impressions.

As some background, I’ve been using Arch for about 10 years, I’ve used Mint and Fedora as daily drivers in the past and played around with Ubuntu, Gentoo and various other distros over the years. I’m not a new Linux user but never used NixOS. I’m very familiar with creating docker images and I have some experience with creating customised Arch PKGBUILD files though I’m not a maintainer so probably know just enough to be dangerous.

Day 1:

Grabbed the installer, wrote the ISO. For some reason the usb drive I was using didn’t boot in UEFI mode, swapped to another one and it worked as intended :shrug:.

I used the graphical installer as I wanted to go down the recommended path for installation. I was surprised that the installer didn’t give any filesystem options, it felt like a glaring omission but installed it using the installer and booted the OS. I didn’t expect ZFS or anything exotic to be an option but thought I’d at least be able to choose between ext4 and btrfs.

Installed, rebooted and it all worked fine, had a quick look around and explored the configuration.nix. file. But I’d previously read about impermanence (one of the things that drew me to nixos in the first place) so looked into how that worked. In addition I wanted disk encryption. Another feature that the installer surprisingly also doesn’t have an option for.

Firstly I wanted to see if I could get disk encryption and ZFS working. I followed the guide here: NixOS Root on ZFS — OpenZFS documentation