Do you think a pacman-inspired output monitor for nix could be cool?

Hi everyone,

I’ve started working on a small toy project this week-end, I’m curious if some people think it could appeal to others.

As I’m new to Nix(OS) I clearly remember my first interaction with nix : “Wait, no progress bar? On what was sold to me as the best package manager?”. Of course this is a bit silly but it made me search for some customization, which got me to nom rather quickly, but here again this was very different from what I was used to.

So, taking inspiration from nom, I was wondering if I could try to make some front-end to nix more appealing for someone like me who just came from Arch / Pacman.

asciicast

Do you think this is a good approach? Again, as I’m rather new to Nix I might be missing huge reasons why nix interface is what it is now.

PS: the code is a hot mess but it is always better to put it online than keeping it private for bad reasons :grimacing: GitHub - remi-dupre/pinix: Progress In Nix - Pacman inspired frontend for Nix

13 Likes

Uh, I kind of love it. Nice work.

2 Likes

I also really like it! I’m currently using something like nvd to at least see what it did but knowing what it is doing is good as well:

1 Like

nvd look great, that’s also the kind of information I’d love to get :+1:

So … I had a lot of fun making the codebase cleaner and trying to iterate on my proof of concept.

I didn’t really like how nom requires you to make aliases that pipe into it. So I instead tried the approach of making wrapper commands, so I instead built wrapper commands that should be usable as drop in replacements. For example nix becomes pix, nix-shell becomes pix-shell, …

Commands that spawn a repl also somehow work but I kinda cheated. It first spawns the underlying commands with captured output and an empty standard input. When this first instance exists it restarts the same command but with forwarded pipes :man_shrugging: