Doom Emacs isues

Noob here, making the switch from Arch to Nixos. I have only a very basic grasp of the Nix language. I have managed to install Nixos from scratch, with flakes, on my laptop, with an i3 window manager. Not doing things “the Nix way” (as I understand it) yet. That is, none of my configs are written in Nix. I have a problem with my doom-emacs setup in particular. At every login, I have to do a rebuild switch or rebuild test to start emacsclient. If I start it by running emacsclient --c -a ‘emacs’, or through the daemon, I get an error saying emacs is not in my path. But when I do a whereis, both the binary and the client are there, in the store. So I tried to set up a systemd service, using the (long!) path to emacs but no luck. Here is the snippet in home.nix:

programs.emacs = {
enable = true;
package = pkgs.emacs;
extraPackages = epkgs: [
epkgs.vterm
epkgs.openwith
];
};

And in configuration.nix:

# enable emacs daemon
services.emacs = {
 enable = true;
 defaultEditor = true;
 package = pkgs.emacs; 
};

I have home manager added as a module to Nixos in my flake which, aside from this and an sddm rice snippet, is very basic.

The system PATH is not picked up by systemd services, and if your scripts reset PATH to /usr/bin or try absolute paths this is the kind of thing you’ll run into.

What commands are you exactly running and what are the exact errors? What systemd service did you write?

This project might also be of interest to you: GitHub - vlaci/nix-doom-emacs: doom-emacs packaged for Nix

This what I am getting:

The program 'emacsclient' is not in your PATH. It is provided by several packages.
You can make it available in an ephemeral shell by typing one of the following:
  nix-shell -p emacs
  nix-shell -p emacs-gtk
  nix-shell -p emacs-nox
  nix-shell -p emacs28-gtk2
  nix-shell -p emacs29
  nix-shell -p emacs29-gtk3
  nix-shell -p emacs29-nox
  nix-shell -p emacs29-pgtk
- (line 1):