Error: secret key is corrupt when building flake

A little bit of back story if it matters

I started playing around with Nix 2-3 weeks ago. I’ve been able to get it up and running fine on a virtual box vm . I’ve managed to install few packages and make some config changes as well.

Then, I tried flakes as that’s what every nix user recommends. And I was able migrate to it successfully.

Issue

Now I want to have a more “permanent” vm and so I setup a vm on Proxmox. I followed this repo GitHub - mitchellh/nixos-config: My NixOS configurations. as guideline to structure my nix config. (i.e. having a machines folder for each machine and so and so). The base NixOS installation goes through fine but I’m just not able to build the flake. This is the error I got

root@nixos:/nix-config]# nixos-rebuild switch --flake .#vm-intel
building the system configuration...
error: secret key is corrupt

I have no clue which secret it’s referring to. The “only” change I made was a bit of refactoring.

nix store verify throws this error but I also see this error on my VirtualBox VM and there the flake builds with no problem. So I’m not really sure if this is an issue.

[root@nixos:/nix-config]# nix store verify
error: flake 'path:/nix-config' does not provide attribute 'packages.x86_64-linux.default' or 'defaultPackage.x86_64-linux'

How I’ve structured my new configs

The hardware-configuration.nix file is coming from the new proxmox vm installation. But the flake.nix flake.lock and nix configuration file (nixos-config/machines/vm-intel.nix ) is coming from my previous installation in VirtualBox.

Maybe this mismatch is causing the issue … I’m not sure.

My Nix Config

I was able to build it.

❯ nixos-rebuild build --flake .#vm-intel
warning: updating lock file '/home/will/code/external/nixos-config/flake.lock':
• Updated input 'nixpkgs':
    'github:NixOS/nixpkgs/c68a9fc85c2cb3a313be6ff40511635544dde8da' (2024-02-15)