External monitors not working, Dell XPS

Summary:

Specs

NixOS 18.09
Laptop: Dell XPS 9570, NVIDIA GeForce GTX 1050Ti.
configuration.nix is pretty basic.
Default plasma 5 desktop.

Issue

No monitors are detected or can be connected too.

Long form

I’m quite new to NixOS and to Linux in general, but I’ve spent the last week or so setting up my system, and while most things are working as expected, there are a few issues. Most importantly: I can’t seem to connect to any external monitors. I have tried both through the HDMI port on the laptop itself and through the DisplayPort and thunderbolt ports on an external dock.

I think I’ve seen a comment somewhere that suggests it might be related to the graphics card and that the nvidia card in the laptop has to be active for it to work (I’m assuming it’s not by default?), but every attempt I’ve made at this has resulted in either a flickering screen that somehow fails to load the Desktop Environment (the X server?) and thus drops me into the startup shell, or the machine freezing.

The nvidia card is listed as a 3D controller in the output of lspci.

Anyway, as I am quite new to this, I’m thinking there might be something obvious I’m missing and would love some help. I’ve been through all the documentation and discussions I’ve been able to find on this, including the NixOS wiki entry, but to no avail.

I’d be more than happy to provide any further information if it could be of any help.

Also, side question: I’ve seen the nvidia-smi command floating around, but haven’t been able to figure out how I get it. Nix isn’t recommending me any packages for it. Could anyone tell me what package I need for it?

Thanks a lot!

1 Like

What does xrandr --listproviders say? Does is say the same thing if you use Nouveau drivers? Do you need any specific Nvidia-binary-driver-only features (e.g. CUDA)?