First packaging attempt

I am trying to create a nix package for Wyoming Satellite.

I am sure this would probably be a quick, easy work for some; but this is my first attempt to actually make a package.

The biggest issue I am running into is that the script/setup and script/run want the .venv to be in the source directory. They don’t seem to provide any way to override that.

I have tried going at this from a few different ways. My first inclination was to patch the scripts, but that seems very heavy handed when I actually should be able to provide a populated .venv directory as part of the build.

I then thought about trying to symlink the .venv directory to a writeable place like ${pwd}/_build/.venv, but that makes the whole thing impure.

I also ran into a problem with pyring-buffer not being a package available in python311Packages.

I am confused about how I am supposed to allow a derivation created by a fetch be mutable for the build steps before it gets marked read-only.

I would like to try to make this work so that the build allows script/setup to run its pip into the #{src}/.venv so that script/run can run using that.

The code I have is all over the place since I have been down so many paths, but I am pasting it here so that perhaps some of my misconceptions can be pointed out.

I keep trying to push myself away from just requesting this package. I would like to understand how to do it myself.

{
  description = "Wyoming Satellite";

inputs = {
    nixpkgs.url = "github:NixOS/nixpkgs/nixos-23.11";
    flake-utils.url = "github:numtide/flake-utils";
  };

outputs = { self, nixpkgs, flake-utils }: 
  flake-utils.lib.eachSystem [ "x86_64-linux" "aarch64-linux" ] (system:
    let
      pkgs = nixpkgs.legacyPackages.${system};

nativeBuildInputs = with pkgs; [
        (python3.withPackages(ps: with python311Packages; [ pip ]))
      ];

src = pkgs.fetchFromGitHub {
        owner = "rhasspy";
        repo = "wyoming-satellite";
        rev = "HEAD";