Flake error: packages.x86_64-linux.nixosConfigurations."nixos".config.system.build.nixos-rebuild'

Greetings!

I am brand new to NixOS. Please be gentle.

I read the tutorial on the Nix language basics. Since I have a foundational understanding of Python, I understood some of it. I think it’s really cool that functions have no names. They are all lambdas.

I am experimenting with the VBox .ova demo appliance provided on the download page. I got it running and installed some apps by making changes to /etc/nixos/configuration.nix.

I got as far as installing chromium as well as (non-free) google-chrome, libreoffice, python, vim, and a few other apps.

Then I ventured forward exploring flakes to try to install and configure Hyprland. Big mistake. When I invoke $ sudo nixos-rebuild switch, I get this error:

error: flake 'path:/etc/nixos' does not provide attribute 'packages.x86_64-linux.nixosConfigurations."nixos".config.system.build.nixos-rebuild', 'legacyPackages.x86_64-linux.nixosConfigurations."nixos".config.system.build.nixos-rebuild' or 'nixosConfigurations."nixos".config.system.build.nixos-rebuild'

I tried running these commands:

[demo@nixos:/etc/nixos]$ sudo nix-channel --update
unpacking channels...
[demo@nixos:/etc/nixos]$ sudo nix-env -u
[demo@nixos:/etc/nixos]$ sudo nix-channel --update nixpkgs
unpacking channels...

I noodled with the four configuration files inside /etc/nixos/ directory. I made small and large changes, where I added, commented out, re-added different lines one at time and running the above commands after each change which has not yet resolved the error.

I am determined to make this work.

I am sharing my configurations files below with the hope that more experienced users might be able to identify the trivial mistake I am making. Based on the configuration files below, what might you people suggest I try next?

/etc/nixos/configuration.nix
  { config, pkgs, ... }:
{
  imports = [ <nixpkgs/nixos/modules/installer/virtualbox-demo.nix> ];