Flake.lock for a multi host flake

I’m fairly new to nixos and the whole flake system. So far I managed to create a setup for three hosts manged by a single flake with a config folder for each host. My main problem (probably due to a lack of understanding the flake system properly) is that the flake will create a flake.lock in the top directory where the flake itself resides. If I do a nix flake update it will replace that flake.lock and when I commit this to the git repository that holds all the configurations, the flake.lock of the last host doing the update would be the one used for all systems.
Is there a good way to have the flake.lock on a per host basis, especially when I want them to be on different input versions?
I tried to use the nix command switches --reference-lock-file and --output-lock-file but those are not supported by nixos-rebuild or nixos-install.

Am I missing something obvious or is there a way to do this without having multiple branches per host or a symlink to a flake.lock for each host in the main folder?

The flake lock covers all inputs.

In your case is the issue that the different hosts have different inputs? Or that you want to manage the upgrade schedule and pinning individually for each?

• If you want some on unstable and some on a release branch, you can simply define different inputs for each nixpkgs branch, and use them as/where appropriate.
  • You could also have three inputs, one per host, all following the same nixpkgs branch, and be careful to only update the host-specific input name each time.
  • If you want each to upgrade separately, when you’re ready, then a branch per host isn’t so bad, and you can use it to follow a CI-style strategy: do all changes on a dev branch, including lockfile updates. Then you can test build each host, and merge the changes to a host-specific branch when you’re ready for each to update to the current ‘known-good’ version.