Grub blank no list of generations only timer

hi all
im brand new to nixos and installed 23.05
after install and reboot grub shows Nixos and formware menu, boots into nix no problems
i add my custom entries into the configuration.nix and run the rebuild switch. no erros, all good.
i added the nvidia services and no errors and can log into either x11 or wayland.
the problem i have is that i have a blank grub menu and no display of any generations and just presented with a visable timer counting down from 5 sec’s.
I can see all the entries in loader (5 generation.conf) , grub.cfg and the efi folders (boot,linux,systemd and nixos)

i did all sorts of things to no sucesss:

• sudo nix-store --verify --check-contents --repair
  • sudo nixos-rebuild boot
  • sudo nix-channel --update
  • sudo nixos-rebuild switch --upgrade
  • sudo nix-store --verify --check-contents --repair
  • which grub-install > /nix/var/nix/profiles/default/bin/grub-install
  • sudo nix-env -i grub
  • sudo grub-mkconfig -o /boot/grub/grub.cfg
  • sudo mkdir -p /boot/grub
  • sudo grub-mkconfig -o /boot/grub/grub.cfg
  • [ -d /sys/firmware/efi/efivars ] && echo “UEFI” || echo “Legacy” > uefi
  • sudo nixos-rebuild --install-bootloader switch

I’m out of ideas currently for why I’m not getting generations to display in grub screen?

# Bootloader.
  boot.loader.systemd-boot.enable = true;
  boot.loader.efi.canTouchEfiVariables = true;
fileSystems."/" =
    { device = "/dev/disk/by-uuid/e0e0daba-b88e-4171-8ea1-19ea9711303b";
      fsType = "ext4";
    };

fileSystems."/boot" =
    { device = "/dev/disk/by-uuid/B538-2C4B";
      fsType = "vfat";
    };

swapDevices =
    [ { device = "/dev/disk/by-uuid/a7fe4b95-dea0-42b6-b4f3-fc970e896e8c"; }
    ];
sudo blkid
/dev/sda2: UUID="e0e0daba-b88e-4171-8ea1-19ea9711303b" BLOCK_SIZE="4096" TYPE="ext4" PARTLABEL="root" PARTUUID="57334452-af19-9241-9693-751469be603b"