Grub Theme Help

I’m relatively new to NixOS and using it on a Dell XPS with good success so far. While trying to customize the OS one item I would like to figure out is how to modify the GRUB theme.

Currently, my system is using GNOME with GRUB2 and what I can find in regard to customizing GRUB is the nixos-grub2-theme pkg but no information or tutorials on how to use it.

I also found this thread (Breeze Grub Thread)) on using a Breeze GRUB theme (looks to have been packaged for 22.05 but not currently in 22.11). Unfortunately, it doesn’t show much in the way of using an external theme that is not packaged in NixOS like: Distro Grub Theme.

I don’t know much about Flakes so I was wondering what options there are to change the GRUB theme and if a Flake would be needed or if the nixos-grub2-theme option is possible with a custom theme like the one above.

Any help on understanding this would be greatly appreciated.

1 Like

A common misconception these days is that Flakes are somehow integral to everything. They’re just a more modular way of packaging nix code. What can be done with them can always be done without them.

Set boot.loader.grub.theme (you can find options like this yourself via search.nixos.org or with man configuration.nix).

There’s a decent chance something like a grub theme doesn’t even really have a build step and amounts to copying some files around. In that case it should be quite easy to package.

In fact, I went ahead and just did it. Add this to your configuration.nix and it should do the trick:

boot.loader.grub.theme = pkgs.stdenv.mkDerivation {
  pname = "distro-grub-themes";
  version = "3.1";
  src = pkgs.fetchFromGitHub {
    owner = "AdisonCavani";
    repo = "distro-grub-themes";
    rev = "v3.1";
    hash = "sha256-ZcoGbbOMDDwjLhsvs77C7G7vINQnprdfI37a9ccrmPs=";
  };
  installPhase = "cp -r customize/nixos $out";
};
1 Like

Thank you tejing for the help!