Haskell pain points

I’m totally new at Haskell, and I’m trying to start it using Nix. I was hoping to get some hints regarding these three issues I get.

what works

with import <nixpkgs> {};
let
  ghc = haskellPackages.ghcWithHoogle (ps: with ps; [
    protolude

cabal-install hlint 
    hdevtools 
    stylish-haskell
    hindent
  ]);
in
stdenv.mkDerivation {
  name = "myenv";
  buildInputs = [ ghc ];
}

what doesn’t

ghc-mod

Adding ghc-mod to the package list I get:

Using Parsec parser
Configuring cabal-helper-0.8.1.2...
CallStack (from HasCallStack):
  die', called at ./Distribution/Simple/Configure.hs:958:20 in Cabal-2.2.0.1-FmPcs9btIHM2Dcb9OsF5gI:Distribution.Simple.Configure
  configureFinalizedPackage, called at ./Distribution/Simple/Configure.hs:462:12 in Cabal-2.2.0.1-FmPcs9btIHM2Dcb9OsF5gI:Distribution.Simple.Configure
  configure, called at ./Distribution/Simple.hs:596:20 in Cabal-2.2.0.1-FmPcs9btIHM2Dcb9OsF5gI:Distribution.Simple
  confHook, called at ./Distribution/Simple/UserHooks.hs:67:5 in Cabal-2.2.0.1-FmPcs9btIHM2Dcb9OsF5gI:Distribution.Simple.UserHooks
  configureAction, called at ./Distribution/Simple.hs:178:19 in Cabal-2.2.0.1-FmPcs9btIHM2Dcb9OsF5gI:Distribution.Simple
  defaultMainHelper, called at ./Distribution/Simple.hs:115:27 in Cabal-2.2.0.1-FmPcs9btIHM2Dcb9OsF5gI:Distribution.Simple
  defaultMain, called at Setup.hs:2:8 in main:Main
Setup: Encountered missing dependencies:
pretty-show >=1.8.1 && <1.9, temporary >=1.2.1 && <1.3

emailparse

Adding emailparse I get:

Setup: Encountered missing dependencies:
QuickCheck ==2.10.*,
base ==4.10.*,
either >=4.4.0 && <4.5,
tasty ==0.11.*,
tasty-hunit ==0.9.*,
tasty-quickcheck ==0.9.*

purebread-email

This library is, according to Hackage, provided in Nix, but I don’t find it in NixPackages.
Am I missing something?

I guess the first two problems can be solved by some overlay magic. I’d be grateful for an example on one of them, so then I can try my hands at the other.