Help understand what is happening with my development environment flake

I am a newbie trying to understand flakes and what is happening behind the scenes, so sorry if this is a silly question.

I am experimenting with a Python development environment based on a flake in essence similar to the onein this link: https://github.com/kemalmao19/devShell/blob/50c33eb8421898e1f4b156a029f17c0749dde6d0/python/python311/flake.nix

When building with Python311 (as in the flake linked) and just trying to build the Python data science package Polars (listing “polars” under the packages) everything builds ok when I do “nix develop” and I enter the development shell - however I am only able to get the Polars version 0.19.12 while as per the NixOS package search the latest version should be 0.20.0.

Initially I suspected that it has something to do with how i define the input, but experimenting with different input sources for nixpkgs - ending with “/nixos-unstable”, “/nixpkgs-unstable”, “/master” and just “nixpkgs” - my flake.lock file updates but still only able to get Polars in 0.19.12.

Any hints on what could likely be the cause? Thanks.

Generally speaking having inputs.nixpkgs.url = "github:NixOS/nixpkgs/master"; set and update your lockfile should give you the unstable packages (I would hope :slight_smile: ). Hence you should be able to get polars above 0.19.12.

1 Like

Continuing the discussion from Help understand what is happening with my development environment flake:

Yes that is what I was hoping as well :slight_smile: , but I can not get the 0.20.0 version. My lockfile updates to:

“‘github:NixOS/nixpkgs/53928007cdaad3c333c7b4647b8d31ae6f99050a’ (2023-12-30)”

so it looks ok but still stuck on 0.19.12. Could I be missing something when it comes to Polars 0.20.0 actually being available at all in nixpkgs yet?