Help with polybar custom script module

I’m very new to NixOS and am having a hard time with some basics.

I have configured polybar using home-manager and it is working fine with the internal modules, but if I try to use external custom/scripts, I get errors.

For instance, I have a bash script for displaying the weather. If I try to point to it from the exec = statement in the module definition in home.nix, I get an error in polybar that says

/usr/bin/env: 'bash': No such file or directory

I thought I did the proper thing of changing the shebang to #!/usr/bin/env bash, but that didn’t seem to work. My script also uses curl, so I assume once I solve the bash issue, curl will be my next issue.

#!/usr/bin/env bash still requires you to explicitly have bash on your PATH for it to be found.

Generally people use helpers like writeScriptBin to create small scripts, which will give you a #!/nix/store/.../bin/sh

My example polybar script: https://github.com/jonringer/nixpkgs-config/blob/a0f7694412e269c1c26db91a1c4cda87e3242a53/nix/polybar.nix

Thanks for the reply. I’m sorry, but I am still a bit in the dark. Does that go in configuration.nix or home.nix?

Also, related question, I am trying to run the odd one-liner script from home.nix, and it looks like I need to provide the whole path, but I don’t know how to figure that out. As an example I am trying to run sed. How can I find which package sed belongs to?

If you’re on NixOS:

$ command-not-found sed
The program 'sed' is not in your PATH. It is provided by several packages.
You can make it available in an ephemeral shell by typing one of the following:
  nix-shell -p busybox
  nix-shell -p gnused
  nix-shell -p gnused_422
  nix-shell -p toybox

Not sure I understand.