How can I build a Python package that uses Qt?

Every time I run my python program that uses a Qt-based library (ete3), I get the error: qt.qpa.plugin: Could not find the Qt platform plugin "xcb" in "". I saw on this wiki page that you could use wrapQtAppsHook, but it doesn’t seem to have any effect.

I’m very new at this, so I’m probably way off with something.

My default.nix file as it currently stands is here.. As you can see, I’m trying to write my own expression for the ete3 library, but it doesn’t seem to be able to find Qt plugins.

Any help would me most appreciated.

2 Likes

The QT section of the nixpkgs manual explains this. Sort of.

Note: wrapQtAppsHook ignores files that are non-ELF executables. This means that scripts won’t be automatically wrapped so you’ll need to manually wrap them as previously mentioned. An example of when you’d always need to do this is with Python applications that use PyQT.”

There’s an example of how to use the wrap function manually in there, as well.

Unless I’m mistaken, those are examples for how to wrap QT applications. But if it’s a library I’m trying to build, and not an application, I don’t have a binary, so I wouldn’t know how to use that.

Really what I’m asking here is: how can I fix the ete section in my default.nix so that (a) it builds, and (b) I can run python example.py from within a nix shell, and have it not complain about a missing xcb plugin?

You can wrap the application that you are using the library with. If you are developing the application, it may be easier to set QT_QPA_PLATFORM_PLUGIN_PATH in e.g. a project-specific shell.nix file. For example:

1 Like