How can I improve the podman user service?

I’m new to NixOS and really happy with the overall concept. Unfortunately, it is not that easy :wink:

I noticed that there is probably a bug in the podman user service. The KillMode should be control-group instead of process according this GitHub issue “podman.service: KillMode=process leaks pause process, breaks subsequent API invocations · Issue #7021 · containers/podman · GitHub”.

Now I tried several configurations to fix it. But I only found this one:

# part of configuration.nix
  systemd.packages = [
    (pkgs.runCommandNoCC "toplevel-overrides.conf" {
      preferLocalBuild = true;
      allowSubstitutes = false;
    } ''
      mkdir -p $out/etc/systemd/podman.service.d/
      echo -e "[Service]\nKillMode=control-group" > $out/etc/systemd/podman.service.d/overrides.conf
    '')
  ];

Inspired by How to use toplevel-overrides for systemd - #4 by hmenke.

I also tried the following both unnsuccessfully:

# part of configuration.nix
  systemd.user.services.podman.serviceConfig = {
    KillMode = "control-group";
  };
# overlay.nix

self: super:
{
  systemd = super.systemd.override // {
    user = super.user.override // {
      services = super.services.override // {
        podman = super.podman.override // {
          serviceConfig = super.serviceConfig.override // {
            KillMode = "control-group";
          };
        };
      };
    };
  };
}

My questions:

• How can I solve this problem via Nix overrides/overlays?
  • Where can I find the wrong KillMode=process in nixpkgs? (to provide a PR)
  • What else could I do to correct the KillMode with Nix expressions?

Thanks!

Overlays are only for packages (not modules), so it is not surprising that your second attempt did not work. What went wrong with your first attempt?

Thanks for your advice.

The approach I wrote first works well. But I want to learn how to solve this in a more Nix-way.