How does HomeManager know nixpkgs version if it's a flake which has its own imports?

I am experimenting with system configuration and home-manager flakes, and I’ve hit a dead end.

flake.nix:

# ...
  inputs = {
    nixpkgs.url = "github:nixos/nixpkgs/nixos-23.11";
    home-manager = {
      url = "github:nix-community/home-manager";
      inputs.nixpkgs.follows = "nixpkgs";
    };
  };
# ...

This is my first time installing HM. So, when I ran this code, I saw a warning:

trace: warning: monkpatch profile: You are using

Home Manager version 24.05 and
  Nixpkgs version 23.11.

I came to a conclusion, that because of inputs.nixpkgs.follows, home-manager’s nixpkgs have version 23.11 (as my nixpkgs that I imported a few lines above), while it depends on unstable nixpkgs.

Okay, I decided to remove the this line. When I removed flake.lock and rebuilt, in the new flake.lock I had two entries with nixpkgs - one from my flake.nix (version 23.11) and one which HM uses (version unstable).
So, I supposed that had to remove the warnings, because now home-manager uses the nixpkgs it wants to use (unstable). But it didn’t!

I started looking into some source codes to understand, why does our nixpkgs version affect home-manager’s anything. Okay, I went to HM’s github and found this line.
So, it treats lib.trivial.release as the version of nixpkgs.
But as lib comes from nixpkgs, and home-manager imports unstable one, why does it have 23.11 version? Or did I not understand the code correctly? I’m completely confused right now.

Your are using inputs.nixpkgs.follows to override the nixpkgs version for home-manager. So you are using the unstable/master branch of home-manager, but feeding it nixpkgs on the nixos-23.11 branch.

If you intend on staying on the stable channel, you should add /release-23.11 to the end of the home-manager url so that the channels match.