How does root filesystem work?

Hi all!

I am new to the nix community. I am using NixOS, and am evangelizing nix in the tech department.

My first question is: I have noticed something curious when using NixOS:

I can see that my root filesystem (unimportantly, it is /dev/mapper/root, since it is LUKS-encrypted) is mounted twice one to / one to /nix/store, but they look absolutely different:

# mount | grep root
/dev/mapper/root on / type ext4 (rw,relatime)
/dev/mapper/root on /nix/store type ext4 (rw,relatime)
$ ls /
bin  boot  data  dev  etc  home  lost+found  nix  proc  root  run  srv  sys  tmp  usr  var
$ ls /nix/store/ | head -n3
0006yk8jxi0nmbz09fq86zl037c1wx9b-automake-1.16.5.tar.xz.drv
001gp43bjqzx60cg345n2slzg7131za8-nix-nss-open-files.patch
001vnhxaswqq5fv88p61m0rypp88knmr-unagi-chan-0.4.1.4.tar.gz.drv

I am super intrigued to learn what kind of sorcery is happening here.

/nix/store is remounted as a read only bind mount usually. Not sure why it is RW for you.

Hmm, okay, it is almost a fresh installation of NixOS, I don’t think I changed much configuration yet.

I added a bit more context in the post. You can see that β€œ/” and β€œ/nix/store” look very different, unsurprisingly, but they are mounted to the same device, which I am very puzzled.

I think it’s because you can mount a directory of a filesystem on Linux, but it seems mount doesn’t show this. Maybe a flag is required.

[root@hellwolf-xps15-nixos:~]# findmnt 
TARGET                        SOURCE           FSTYPE          OPTIONS
/                             /dev/disk/by-uuid/784abb2f-b58f-49ef-bc07-38bf8843498b
β”‚                                              ext4            rw,relatime
β”œβ”€/dev                        devtmpfs         devtmpfs        rw,nosuid,size=1631144k,nr_inodes=4075159,mode=755
β”‚ β”œβ”€/dev/pts                  devpts           devpts          rw,nosuid,noexec,relatime,gid=3,mode=620,ptmxmode=666