How to build a go project and include it into a nixos install

Hi,

I’m totally new to NixOS and still figuring out if I should switch to it or not.

So, I startet to build a configuration which at least works and installs most of the stuff I need: GitHub - TLINDEN/nixos-config: My personal nixos config. This just installs packages, I’m not interested to also install configs at this point. I’ll just checkout my dotfiles repo to have them.

However, I am using a couple of go binaries which are not available as a nix package (or are outdated). So, I want to build by own packages for those tools and integrate them into my nixos configuration.

I started to create a new package with nix flake init -t templates#go-hello. I renamed the package, added a github source, fixed the sha256:

{
  description = "A simple Go package";
  inputs.nixpkgs.url = "nixpkgs/nixos-21.11";

outputs = { self, nixpkgs }:
    let
      lastModifiedDate = self.lastModifiedDate or self.lastModified or "19700101";
      version = builtins.substring 0 8 lastModifiedDate;
      supportedSystems = [ "x86_64-linux" ];
      forAllSystems = nixpkgs.lib.genAttrs supportedSystems;
      nixpkgsFor = forAllSystems (system: import nixpkgs { inherit system; });

in
    {
      packages = forAllSystems (system:
        let
          pkgs = nixpkgsFor.${system};
        in
        {
          rpnc = pkgs.buildGoModule {
            pname = "rpnc";
            inherit version;
            src = pkgs.fetchFromGitHub {
              owner = "tlinden";
              repo = "rpnc";
              rev = "v2.1.0";
              sha256 = "sha256-CojP1a19b2zKfUMp+wN7FFs+SzSoc8sYqKvXTg4RnOA=";
            };
            vendorSha256 = "sha256-pQpattmS9VmO3ZIQUFn66az8GSmB4IvYhTTCFn6SUmo=";
          };
        });

devShells = forAllSystems (system:
        let
          pkgs = nixpkgsFor.${system};
        in
        {
          default = pkgs.mkShell {