How to climb up the learning curve? (specifically nixpkgs/haskellPackages)

I have been using Nix for a couple of years now, I am in no way a beginner, but I can not say I am an intermediate user either.

Recently I had the experience of getting Haskell static executable building to work (not for the first time, but things changed since I last did it), which sits on the shoulder of giants, @nh2 ‘s work, and nixpkgs’ Haskell infrastructure.
I am infinitely grateful to their work, at the same time I am pretty frustrated that I had to spend a couple of days guessing and guessing and guessing magic incantations until I got everything to finally work. This is in no way a complaint, nor is it a problem with nix/nixpkgs, it is simply due to my incompetence and I would like to fix it, hence this post.

I would have gladly spent this time problem-solving my way into a successful build IF I could at least understand or know what I should read (code as well) in order to understand what is going on.
Every time I try to learn what is going on in nixpkgs I go completely lost in the sheer complexity of it and give up, just guessing the appropriate fix. When nix builds fail it could be at any level of abstraction how do I got about familiarising myself with all those layers so that I can troubleshoot intelligently?
I am lurking on this forum and there are enough users (at the double digits) that show that they have an understanding of how things work together or when there is a problem, what is a possible culprit, how to advance etc.

I would also want to be in this position, I understand that the road is going to be long. I want to use Nix