How to create a development environment for build123d

Hello,

I am very new to Nix and NixOS since my first install 2024-03-15 19:52. I am learning how to create a development environment for build123d, a Python based CAD API. A few days have passed and the struggle continues . . . I almost have it (I think).

If you can, please review what I have done, help me get it working, and give me some suggestions. Also, I don’t know Haskell, JSON, or Nix . . . so if you can clue me into what some of the common and best practices are. Thanks for sharing your time.

Here is my work:

• The intended goal is to create a python development shell for the CAD application build123d.

• System Information:

$ nixos-version  
24.05pre608655.ff0dbd94265a (Uakari)

$ inxi -z
CPU: 8-Core AMD Ryzen 7 7730U with Radeon Graphics (-MT MCP-) speed/min/max: 2061/400/4546 MHz Kernel: 6.6.25 x86_64 
Up: 13h 20m Mem: 22698.6/63719.8 MiB (35.6%) Storage: 1.82 TiB (83.1% used) Procs: 466 Shell: Bash inxi: 3.3.04 
# Recommended
>>> pip install build123d

or

# Development
>>> python3 -m pip install --upgrade pip
>>> git clone https://github.com/gumyr/build123d.git
>>> cd build123d
>>> python3 -m pip install -e .
>>> python
>>> from build123d import *
>>> print(Solid.make_box(1,2,3).show_topology(limit_class="Face"))
  • The test should yield the results similar to:
Solid        at 0x165e75379f0, Center(0.5, 1.0, 1.5)
└── Shell    at 0x165eab056f0, Center(0.5, 1.0, 1.5)
        ├── Face at 0x165b35a3570, Center(0.0, 1.0, 1.5)
        ├── Face at 0x165e77957f0, Center(1.0, 1.0, 1.5)
        ├── Face at 0x165b3e730f0, Center(0.5, 0.0, 1.5)
        ├── Face at 0x165e8821570, Center(0.5, 2.0, 1.5)
        ├── Face at 0x165e88218f0, Center(0.5, 1.0, 0.0)
        └── Face at 0x165eb21ee70, Center(0.5, 1.0, 3.0)
  • The output from the configured shell does not match the expected result, it is instead:
$ python

Python 3.11.8 (main, Feb  6 2024, 21:21:21) [GCC 13.2.0] on linux