How to disable the bluetooth of my intel wifi card

I have an intel wifi/bluetooth card in my laptop. One of the antennas got ripped off causing the bluetooth to not work, but the wifi still works.
How do I disable the bluetooth of the card from being detected?

I would like to use a bluetooth dongle instead, which isn’t being detected, but I guess that calls for another topic…

Thanks

You could try to set a udev rule under services.udev.extraRules for your bluetooth device. Details depend on your device of course.

Thanks I’ll check out what udev is.
I’m new to linux and nixos as a whole.
I add this to the configuration.nix file, yes?

I add this to the configuration.nix file, yes?

Yes, basically. You just have to figure out which rule you actually need in your case, depending on the IDs for your device. Which you might get from looking at the output of lspci or lsusb depending on what kind of device you have.

For instance on my desktop system with a bluetooth USB dongle, I can do

lsusb | grep Bluetooth

to get this:

Bus 003 Device 004: ID 0a12:0001 Cambridge Silicon Radio, Ltd Bluetooth Dongle (HCI mode)

Now this being a USB device, it will be found under /dev/usb/. And since it is device 004 on bus 003, it is this file /dev/usb/003/004.

You can then use udevadm to get some info on the device:

udevadm info -q all -a /dev/bus/usb/003/004

The output basically tells you what you can do with it in udev rules. In particular my device has the attirbute ATTR{authorized}=="1" and is located on SUBSYSTEM=="usb". If you set authorized to 0 I’d assume the device will go away.

So for my USB dongle you might try the follow rule:

SUBSYSTEM=="usb", ATTRS{idVendor}=="0a12", ATTRS{idProduct}=="0001", ATTR{authorized}="0"

The idVendor and idProduct attributes are either found in the output of udevadm or in the output of lsusb as ID 0a12:0001.

And if you adapt that to your case, that should be it. I hope :smile:

2 Likes

Thanks, This helps a lot !!!

1 Like