How to expand and test module?

Hello, could anyone give me easy guidance on how I could do the procedure described in the title of this post, preferably with the modern cli (nix flake, nix build, …)?

To make this more clear, let me give you an example:
The minecraft-server module lacks an option to define server operators, so at the moment you have to do it non declarative by editing ops.json. What I would like to do is to add that option (probably services.minecraft-server.operators), somehow test it locally and if it works send a pull request on nixpkgs so it gets merged and thus available to everyone.

Unfortunately I have absolutely no idea how I would do this, it is my first time trying to make a contribution and I cannot really find a guide on how to extend modules. I would prefer to start with best practices, so if experienced members could explain this in easy words for me, I would very much appreciate it.

Thank you in advance!

You’re right, there’s some documentation about contributing to nixpkgs in general, but it’s not really helpful for your case.

The basics are quite simple:

$ git clone https://github.com/NixOS/nixpkgs
$ cd nixpkgs/nixos
$ nix build -f default.nix system

This basically builds your current NixOS configuration with all the packages and modules from the repository you just cloned. It should create a symlink to the built system called result in the current directory, which you can then explore to ensure that the files were generated as you expect.

It doesn’t enable the system in any way, though. For that, you would need to call ./result/bin/switch-to-configuration. This is basically what nixos-rebuild switch does after it built your system config as well.
However, you can also replace system in the nix build call above by vm. That way, you build a vm that you can then run with qemu to test the result completely separately from you running system.