How to force package configs re-install?

I used the Nix Package Manager, via nix-shell, to temporarily install podman on CentOS 7.9 to see if the upgraded version worked.

podman 5.0.3 didn’t work. There were keys and container sources in place from the original platform install of podman 1.6.4. So, I exited nix-shell, uninstalled the yum packages and moved the /etc/container, /user/share/container, and ~/.config/container directories to backup and hoped that the Nix Package Manager “re-install” would re-create them for the Nix context. It didn’t.

Is there a way to force the package to generate the configurations?

I think that since I already have the package in the store, that Nix is just re-creating a temporary environment with links pointing to the right places. I suspect (sorry noob here) that if it was a first time install it would have created those configuration files, but that it elects not to over-write them if they exist already. A sensible default. But if I re-run

nix-shell -p podman

a second time, it finds the package that it downloaded earlier in the store and just re-establishes the links. I can’t seem to find any option to regenerate the config files, assuming I’m right in my guess about what it would have done on the first install.

Although Podman complaining about missing global policy.json while a local one is present #19073 is a different problem, it gives me some confidence that my assumptions are correct, that nix-shell should be creating the configuration files.

I’m thinking that running nix-shell with --expr and some derivation that triggers the package re-install might be the way to go… now to figure out how to do that :hand_with_index_finger_and_thumb_crossed: