How to get latest version of packages?

i am very new to nix.

I notice most of the packages in nix registry are out of date. eg:

go is at 1.20 when latest is 1.21
bazel is at 6.2.0 when latest is 6.3.2

what is the recommended way to search for and get the latest version of nix packages?

Sometimes it helps to append a version number to the end of the package name. For example: Go has a convention of go_major_minor in nixpkgs that you can use to find specific versions, so go_1_21 will get you the version you want. This convention is a little different for different packages (e.g., Python uses pythonMajorMinor, like python39)

Another option is to search for the package on tools like Nixhub, which aggregates all the current and historic versions for a package on one page. Hereā€™s the page for Go: go | How to install with Nix or Devbox

so i looked at nixhub, but they seem to have hash value in the ā€˜nixpkgs referenceā€™ field, eg for Bazel: bazel | How to install with Nix or Devbox

how do i use this info to get v6.3.2 of Bazel

1 Like

Iā€™ve never heard of nixhub, I donā€™t think itā€™s an official resource. I think the source of truth for available packages in nixpkgs is NixOS Search. It looks like bazel 6.3.2 is in there.

Since you mentioned the registry, I assume youā€™re using flakes as opposed to channels. Can you post the output of nix flake metadata nixpkgs and nix flake run nixpkgs#bazel -- --version?

i just have a basic shell.nix file which does packages = [pkgs.go].
i am learning via the guides on nix website.

no idea what flakes or channels are. it seems the latest bazel you pointed to is in the ā€˜unstableā€™ channel. how do i use it from there?

Just wanted to point out that you probably use the stable channel. See the unofficial nixos wikipage to channels on how to switch channels.

small update: the docs donā€™t seem to completely show you how to do it (didnā€™t find it in either official manual either), so what you want is to