How to install NVM (Node Version Manager) in NixOS?

I am trying to install NVM in NixOS. This is my config file.

However, I cannot find the package.

Is there an alternative way of handling this?

2 Likes

Use a properly set up shell.nix.

Most of those xVM are in conflict with how nix works and either create binaries that won’t work anyway, or otherwise a hazzle for you to provide proper libraries and “dev-packages” in a way that the xVM can see them.

3 Likes

Thank you. Could you provide the template? An example or tutorial?

I have little experience with nix-shell

1 Like

Try this. Add this file to the root of your projec - call it shell.nix. then run nix-shell to spawn an environment with the dependencies you need. I would look into nix-direnv as well.

{ pkgs ? import <nixpkgs> { } }:
let
  mynode = pkgs.nodejs-14_x;
in
pkgs.stdenv.mkDerivation {
  name = "my-shell";
  packages = [  ];
  shellHook = "";
  buildInputs = [ mynode ];
}
2 Likes

Thanks for the help!

Before reading this answer, I was trying the following:

stdenv.mkDerivation {
    name = "node";
    buildInputs = [
        nodejs-16_x
        nodePackages.firebase-tools
        nodePackages.node-gyp
    ];
    shellHook = ''
        export PATH="$PWD/node_modules/.bin/:$PATH"
        export NPM_PACKAGES="$HOME/.npm-packages"
    '';
}

I tried to adapt the content of mine initial approach with your suggestion:

But, I am getting this error

Try:

stdenv.mkDerivation {
    name = "node";
    packages = with pkgs; [
        nodejs-16_x
        nodePackages.node-gyp
    ];
    shellHook = ''
    '';
}

Note that, while buildInputs will work because this is all passed to mkDerivation in the end, packages is preffered because it makes more sense.

This probably won’t work as you expect it to, though. npm assumes packages are in the node_modules directory, having them installed globally doesn’t help.