How to manage user configuration with flakes without home manager on nixos-21.05?

I don’t know much about nixos yet.

I have found this article Switching non-NixOS Home Manager to flakes – dee.underscore.world.

How is it possible?

1 Like

Home-manager really only needs systemd to be available for the user systemd services to work.

Home-manager is essentially a very opinionated way to organize your dot files, there’s no need for the host system to be NixOS.

I still use my home-manager independently of my system. If you would like some “inspiration”, you can take a look: GitHub - jonringer/nixpkgs-config: ~/.config/nixpkgs

You should be able to use this on any linux system. I was even using it on WSL for a while.

2 Likes

The thing is I am quite new to nixos and I want to reduce number of abstraction layers I deal with.

So I thought about just using flakes, especially when I read this:

Unfortunately, it is quite possible to get difficult to understand errors when working with Home Manager, such as infinite loops with no clear source reference. You should therefore be comfortable using the Nix language and the various tools in the Nix ecosystem. Reading through the Nix Pills document is a good way to familiarize yourself with them.

2 Likes

The home-manager readme wording comes up a lot.

Essentially he (@rycee) is making it abundantly clear that usage of home-manager puts the liability of issues on the user. This is technically true of almost all OSS, it’s just very in your face about it.

3 Likes

The article that you linked is: no flakes home-manager → flakes home manager

NixOS doesn’t provide user level services and configuration which is why people also use home-manager.

Flakes is a way of pinning nixpkgs and other inputs (to grossly simplify) and isnt analogous to or a replacement for home-manager

1 Like