How to open a nix-shell session

Hello everyone,
This is my first post. I am very new to all the world of ubuntu and nix, and could barely understand what nix is but will be working on it.

I come here because in some installation guide it tells me “open a nix-shell session”

It looks to me that I installed nix correctly (got no error messages). But I tried for several hours to search online on how to open a nix-shell session and I just can’t find that out. When I type “nix-shell” on my command line in ubuntu it says “command not found”. That is why I come here for your help and thank you for anybody who can help me out on this.

What exactly are you trying to achieve (as in what’s your end goal)? Have you installed nix? Can you link the guide you’re following?

Given that you sound very new to Linux in general I don’t think that jumping straight into nix is a good idea if it can be avoided.

Hi, thank you for your answer.
Here’s the guide:
https://docs.cardano.org/projects/cardano-node/en/latest/getting-started/building-the-node-using-nix.html

Although even the first quadrant “./install-nix.sh” doesn’t work on my ubuntu 20 (“permission denied”, it even doesn’t work with “sudo”), but I managed to install nix using this guide until step 4: https://testnets.cardano.org/en/cardano/get-started/installing-and-running-the-cardano-node/building-the-node-using-nix/

And then on step 5. it’s the same, it says open a new nix-shell session, that I find impossible for me to understand how to do it.

Can you try running sudo rm -rf /nix, and installing nix again using the official nix documentation (Download Nix / NixOS | Nix & NixOS)? The installer also tells you that you have to source a particular shell script to get nix tools in your $PATH, so remember to do that when prompted. You should never run the installer as root, because then it’ll install a nix only usable by root. The installer script will prompt you for sudo access when needed.