How to put an overlay on an overlay in a flake oh my!

here is my attempt to add an overlay to the nix ros overlay so i can ad a required compiler flag. I’m using this example to try and learn how overlays work in a flake context.

I am very new to Nix as well.

The goal of this attempt is to produce a derivation (am i using that word right?) that is just like the rplidar-ros package in the nix ros overlay, except it has the cmakeFlags changed.

inputs = {
    nix-ros-overlay.url = "github:lopsided98/nix-ros-overlay";
    nixpkgs.follows = "nix-ros-overlay/nixpkgs";  # IMPORTANT!!!
  };
  outputs = { self, nix-ros-overlay, nixpkgs }:
    nix-ros-overlay.inputs.flake-utils.lib.eachDefaultSystem (system:
      let
        pkgs = import nixpkgs {
          inherit system;
          overlays = [
            nix-ros-overlay.overlays.default
              (final: prev: {
                rosPackages = prev.rosPackages // {
                  humble = prev.rosPackages.humble // {
                    depthai-ros = prev.rosPackages.humble.depthai-ros.overrideAttrs (oldAttrs: {
                      cmakeFlags = (oldAttrs.cmakeFlags or []) ++ [ "-DDEPTHAI_ENABLE_BACKWARD=OFF_____THIS_DOES_NOT_HAPPEN________________" ];
                    });
                  };
                };
              })
            ];
        };
      in {
        devShells.default = pkgs.mkShell {
          name = "Example project";
          packages = with pkgs.rosPackages.humble; [
            pkgs.colcon
            ros-core
            nav2-core
            rplidar-ros
            depthai-ros
          ];
        };
      });
  nixConfig = {
    extra-substituters = [ "https://ros.cachix.org" ];
    extra-trusted-public-keys = [ "ros.cachix.org-1:dSyZxI8geDCJrwgvCOHDoAfOm5sV1wCPjBkKL+38Rvo=" ];
  };
}

What happens is the overlay attempt has no effect at all.

To ensure changes to depthai-ros propagate to its dependents, you must use overrideScope. You can find more documentation here.